Mette Heeno Erik Ballings Rejselegat 2023

Erik Ballings Rejselegat

Erik Balling's Rejselegat was founded by Nordisk Film Fonden in 2006.

The award is a travel grant of DKK 75,000. Nordisk Film Fonden chose that it should be a travel grant because Erik Balling, together with his colleague Henning Bahs, for many years showed that traveling promotes inspiration and creativity - and gives strength to new efforts.

The council consists of max. 6 people. The council of Nordisk Film Fonden annually appoints the chairman of the prize committee on the recommendation of the director of Nordisk Film Production. The prize committee has a seat for 1 year at a time and members can sit for a maximum of 3 consecutive years and have a withdrawal period of 3 years, regardless of duration. Nordisk Film A/S's representation does not exceed 2 people.

The prize committee consists of:

  • Camilla Hammerich – Chairperson and Producer
  • Frelle Petersen – Director and writer
  • Thomas Hwan – Actor
  • Jenny Lund Madsen – Writer
  • Dorthe Riis Lauridsen – Producer/Apple Tree Productions

Erik Balling's Rejselegat is awarded annually to a person who in the year in question has created a work that has particularly attracted the public's attention and interest.

The prize is awarded each year in connection with Nordisk Film's birthday in November and from 2017 Erik Ballings Rejselegat became part of ISBJØRNEN, Nordisk Film Foundation's honorary award show.

Erik Ballings Rejselegat recipient 2023: Mette Heeno

Erik Balling's Travel Grant 2023 goes to screenwriter Mette Heeno for her efforts as main writer on the popular DR series CARMEN CURLERS, which took home three Robert awards - among other things for "Danish TV series of the year" in 2023.
Mette Heeno Erik Ballings Rejselegat 2023 isbjørnen

Former recipients of Erik Ballings Rejselegat

  • 2023 – Mette Heeno, Screenwriter
  • 2022 – Frelle Petersen, Director & Screenwriter
  • 2021 – Lisa Jespersen, Director & Screenwriter & Sara Isabella Jønsson, Screenwriter
  • 2020 – Louise McLaughlin, Cinematographer
  • 2019 – Peter Hjorth, VFX Supervisor
  • 2018 – Ditte Hansen og Louise Mieritz, Actors & Screenwriters
  • 2017 – Sabine Hviid, Set Designer
  • 2016 – Ask Hasselbalch, Director
  • 2015 – May el-Toukhy, Director
  • 2014 – Maya Ilsøe, Screenwriter
  • 2013 – Sisse Graum Jørgensen & Louise Vesth, Producers
  • 2012 – Rene Ezra & Tomas Radoor, Producers
  • 2011 – Martin Pieter Zandvliet, Director
  • 2010 – Susanne Bier, Director
  • 2009 – Åke Sandgren, Director
  • 2008 – Adam Neutzsky-Wulff, Producer
  • 2007 – Dan Laustsen, Cinematographer

In 2006 when the prize was established there were 4 recipients:

  • Nikolaj Arcel, Screenwriter
  • Anders Østergaard, Director
  • Lise Nørgaard, Journalist, Author & Screenwriter
  • Bent Fabricius-Bjerre, Composer