RSS Print

Honorary Awards

The Nordisk Film Foundation reward talents for the extraordinary effort.

The Nordisk Film Foundation has three annual honorary awards in Denmark and one in Norway with the objective of rewarding talents for their extraordinary efforts. The awards cannot be applied for. The award decision is made in award committees appointed for that particular purpose. Every award has its own purpose and committee.

The Nordisk Film Award is a talent award that rewards new Danish talents who have made an extraordinary effort to take the Danish film to a higher level. Erik Balling's Travelling Grant rewards a person who has created a piece of that has evoked audience attention and interest in a distinctive way. The Ove Sprogøe Award is given to a Danish actor who has the talent and potential to gain the same popular and broad appeal as Ove Sprogøe. From 2015 the Nordisk Film Foundation rewards the Nordisk Film Award in Norway to a Norwegian talent behind the camera who has made an extraordinary effort for Norwegian film. 

From 2017 all three Danish awards will be handed out at THE POLAR BEAR awardshow which will be held in november in relation to the birthday of Nordisk Film.