RSS Print

Erik Balling's Travelling Grant

  • Foto: Kristian Septimius Krogh, winner 2017 Sabine Hviid

    Foto: Kristian Septimius Krogh, winner 2017 Sabine Hviid

Erik Balling's Travelling Grant was instituted by the Nordisk Film Foundation in 2006.

The award is a travelling grant of DKK 75,000.

The award is a travelling grant because Erik Balling and his colleague Henning Bahs knew for many years that, travelling promotes inspiration and creational urges – and provides the energy for new efforts.

The award committee consists of four people. The Committee of the Nordisk Film Foundation annually appoints the award committee, the chairman of the committee and approves the selection criteria for candidates outlined by the award committee. The award committee is in charge of selecting the award winner. In 2017 the committee consists of Mikael Christian Rieks (chairman), Ask Hasselbach (director and last years recipient), Birgitte Hjort Sørensen (actress) og Mia Stensgaard (scenographer). 

The Erik Balling's Travelling grant is given annually to a person who during the preceding year created a piece of work that has gained the attention and interest of the audience in a distinctive way.

The award is given every year in connection with Nordisk Film's birthday in November at THE POLAR BEAR awardsshow. 

Former recipients of Erik Balling's Travelling Grant:

  • 2017 – Sabine Hviid
  • 2016 – Ask Hasselbalch
  • 2015 – May el-Toukhy
  • 2014 – Maya Ilsøe
  • 2013 – Sisse Graum Jørgensen og Louise Vesth
  • 2012 – Rene Ezra and Tomas Radoor
  • 2011–  Martin Zandvliet
  • 2010 – Susanne Bier
  • 2009 – Åke Sandgren
  • 2008 – Adam Neutzsky-Wulff
  • 2007 – Dan Laustsen

In the year of institution, four award winners received the award:

  • Nikolaj Arcel
  • Anders Østergaard
  • Lise Nørgaard
  • Bent Fabricius-Bjerre