RSS Print

The Ove Sprogøe Award

  • Foto: Kristian Septimius Krogh, winner 2017 Nikolaj Coster-Waldau

    Foto: Kristian Septimius Krogh, winner 2017 Nikolaj Coster-Waldau

The Ove Sprogøe Award was instituted by Morten Grunwald and Nordisk Film with donations from the royalties of the writers behind the book “Den fynske vulkan” and the Ove Sprogøe memorial show.

The award prize is DKK 50,000. Since 2011, the Nordisk Film Foundation has donated DKK 30,000 to continue the award and from 2018 DKK 50.000. 

The award committee consists of ten people: Morten Grunwald (Chairman), Bent Fabricius Bjerre, Jan Lehmann (Nordisk Film), Lisbeth Dahl, Henning Sprogøe, Katja Holm, Kim Skotte, Jens Refslund Christensen, Johanne Louise Schmidt (in the committee in 2017) and Henrik Zein. 

The Ove Sprogøe Award is given annually to a Danish actor or actress for an exceptional effort on TV, film or theater during the preceding year.

In the selection process, importance is attached to the person having the talent and potentially the same public and broad appeal as Ove Sprogøe.

Until 2017 the award was given in connection with Ove Sprogøe’s birthday on the 21st of December – or close to this date if the 21st of December is in a weekend or coincidences with Christmas holidays. From 2017 and onwards the award will be part of THE POLAR BEAR awardshow held in November. 

In 2014, the Ove Sprogøe Award was held Wednesday on 17th December at a morning event at Nordisk Film for invited guests and the press a few days before Ove Sprogøe would have celebrated his 95 years birthday.

Former recipients of the Ove Sprogøe Award:

  • 2017 – Nikolaj Coster-Waldau

  • 2016 – Johanne Louise Schmidt

  • 2015 – Ulrich Thomsen

  • 2014 – Danica Curcic

  • 2013 – Mia Lyhne

  • 2012 – Pilou Asbæk

  • 2011– Nikolaj Lie Kaas

  • 2010 – Cecilie Stenspil

  • 2009 – Signe Egholm Olsen

  • 2008 – Lene Maria Christensen

  • 2007– Nikolaj Kopernikus

  • 2006 – Niels Ellegaard